• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO334-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026033426
  • Street Date: 08/19/16
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Ambient/Experimental
  • Run Time: 74 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2016
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets





Steve Roach - Shadow of Time

Spacious expansion blooms in subtle dynamic momentum, a reflection of emotion and reverie within three long tracks.

Steve Roach - Shadow of Time
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 3
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Stephen Hill, Hearts of Space: “Three profound sonic environments born from deep intuition for the power of sound, refined by years of technical mastery.”

Within the 35 year orbit of Roach’s relentless dedication to sonic-art as a way of life, Shadow of Time marks a reconnection to the touchstone of Roach’s signature sound: deep breathing atmospherics, textural healings and zen-like immersion spaces. The inner stillness and sumptuous shimmering of warm analog synthesizers slow down time and enhance the moment in ways unique to Roach’s work.

Roach says, “If Structures From Silence is held in your right hand then the new music on Shadow of Time is held in the left hand. Created 34 years apart and connected by the emotional resonance and the mosaic of life lived in this time span and reflected in this return to a sonic home.”

Shadow of Time’s spacious expansion blooms outward in subtle dynamic momentum, a reflection of emotion and reverie within its three long tracks. This sonic sanctuary is at once amorphous and engaging. The overall effect is the appearance of soft-edged architectural forms, arising melodies drifting upon illuminated tendrils, lush chords shapeshifting in harmonic interplay as if waves swell and gently touch upon a time-suspended shore.

Mike G, Ambient Music Guide: “The swelling, breathing synth-harmonies are cast across a wide, uncluttered landscape, and at the center is a sense of utter calm. Like all of Roach’s best meditative pieces, the silence between and around the chords is as important as the music itself.”

Steve reflects, “my obsession with time is a core meditation that helps birth this music. As the years cast a long shadow into life, the desire to reach deeper towards these places in between remains central in my work. The experience of responding to these moments in the studio is the grand adventure from which my work emerges.”

CD in 4-panel digipak.

Track Listing

    • Shadow of Time
    • Night Ascends
    • Cloud of Knowing

    This page was created in 0.30345797538757 seconds