• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO324-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026032429
  • Street Date: 02/05/16
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Ambient/Experimental
  • Run Time: 51 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2016
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets





Steve Roach - Emotions Revealed

A sublime revealing trip back in time to 1983 when an electronic pioneer was truly beginning to find his own voice.

Steve Roach - Emotions Revealed
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 3
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

A delayed transmission from the early 80s. Discovered serendipitously in 2015, these lost tracks created just prior to the Structures from Silence-era represent two then-emerging sides of Steve’s artistic muse. Track One  is a mesmerizing, yearning sequencer exploration connected to the German school of electronic music. Track Two was his first long-form atmospheric composition of emotional introspection — stillness, silence, and solitude. Two essential touchstones of Steve’s sonic origin.

ProgArchives: “A sublime revealing trip back in time to a period when a creative artist was truly beginning to find his own voice, and a perfectly satisfying album in its own right.”

Track one – “Emotion Revealed” – was recorded live in 1983 at the Timeroom, Culver City, California, soon after the release of Steve’s premiere solo cassette NOW (1982). This piece presents a classic recording of the sound that defined the early years of Steve’s work showing the influence of the European electronic music of that era. It captures the emotions of the moment live in the studio.

Connected in contrast, the second track – “Firelight” – is informed by the stillness of the southwest desert experience: externalizing the feeling of these serene and austere expanses, evoking the introspection these isolated environments provide. This influence can be considered a soul tone in Steve’s work. This recording is the birth of Steve’s contemplative voice; the awakening of this space-location immersion style is clearly alive within this expression of sonic solitude. This is the first recorded document in which Steve breaks away from the European influences, exploring a style that went on to become a genre all its own.

These two recordings are a rediscovery of an essential period from Steve’s catalog that could just as easily be a future transmission from 2083.

CD in 4-panel digipak.

Track Listing

    • Emotion Revealed
    • Firelight

    This page was created in 0.30794596672058 seconds