• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Version: 2024 remaster
  • SKU: PRO419-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026041926
  • Street Date: 06/07/24
  • PreBook Date: 05/03/24
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: New Age
  • Run Time: 47:50 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1979
  • Box Lot: 41
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets





Michael Stearns - Morning Jewel

Embraced in 1979 by the burgeoning New Age & meditative music market, the album stands as a classic from the early era of Californian ambient artists.

Michael Stearns - Morning Jewel
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 19
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

• Limited edition of 300.
•CD in 4-panel digipak with credits insert

It's been forty-five years since Michael Stearns released his third cassette, Morning Jewel. Quickly embraced in 1979 by the burgeoning New Age and meditative music market, the album stands as a classic from the early era of Californian ambient artists. It's a sublime sonic monument with two long-form pieces integrating natural sounds and minimal electronics in long quiet movements.

Stearns says, "The creation of this album came about from my curiosity and exploration of recording organic sounds in nature as well as an interest in microtonal tunings. Capturing the environmental sounds became a meditation and inspiration. Intertwining those sources with my music contributed a literal 'organic' quality to 'Morning.' Working with a microtonal scale and instrument brought the mathematics inherent in the natural world to 'Jewel,' lending it a more 'organic' feeling."

Stearns continues, "With today's amazing advanced digital audio technology and the help of mastering engineer Bob Ohlsson, the original recording and mix took on an exciting new life."

All Music Guide:
A Michael Stearns classic. Recorded and released in 1979. The set has two long-form compositions, and each stands on its own merit. "Morning" is 26 minutes of natural ambience from an Arizona desert and a Mexican jungle. Stearns builds a soundscape of drones and melodic synths around the natural sounds. He tops it with acoustic music and wordless vocals. It is pure minimalism and natural relaxation music. "Jewel" is 22 minutes of warm bell tones created on Ervin Wilson's Eikosany with a chorus of female voices. Stearns' unique recording and processing techniques give the piece an electronic synthesizer sound. It is gentle, elegant, and mystically haunting. This music was completely unique in 1979. Modern minimalists like Klaus Wiese and Mathias Grassow create similar music in the new millennium. An essential CD.


Track Listing

    • Morning (2024 remaster)
    • Jewel (2024 remaster)

    This page was created in 0.30685305595398 seconds