• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • Version: Limited Clear / Transparent Vinyl limited to 500 Copies
  • Format: LP ON HOLD
  • UPC: 7340148112955
  • Street Date: 09/02/22
  • PreBook Date: 09/10/21
  • Label: Lovely Records »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 29 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2021
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NA,JP,AU
  • Language: English


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets





Nightwatchers - Common Crusades

Melodic, gloomy and cold post punk. The album Common Crusades continues to tell storys from French colonization...

Nightwatchers - Common Crusades
  • List Price: $25.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $25.99
  • In Stock: 28
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

"Common Crusades" is the second full-length from the French punk band, and the musical and lyrical continuity of their 2019 thematic debut "La paix ou le sable". Political lyrics dealing with the conflicts rooted in France's colonial era clash with melodic, subversive, and gloomy and soundscapes throughout the tracks of "Common Crusades". An album that is as musically captivating as politically current. "Common Crusades" offers 10 melodic punk rock tracks, all contributing to the overall story and theme of the album. Fast-paced, distorted, and punchy cuts are mixed with tracks highlighting a colder and post-punk influenced side of Nightwatchers. The sound is perfectly captured by studio engineer Mathieu Zuzek. "Common Crusades" tackles the same issues that shaped Nightwatchers debut album "La paix ou le sable", but from a different perspective. Both albums deal with events surrounding France's violent colonization and exploitation of their occurred territories. While the lyrics of "La paix ou le sable" is based on excerpts taken from two historical books and written with the objective of raising awareness of France's colonial violence, "Common Crusades" mainly focuses on the aftermath of these conflicts, and how the colonial era still affects modern day France. In particular, its muslim population. All the lyrics of "Common Crusades" are based on speeches or writings of personalities who played a role in the colonization process, as well as those who currently play a role in the perpetuation of colonial logic within the French society. The band explains that;


Track Listing

  • For the sake of the People and the Nation
  • The White Fathers
  • No matter who "Osei Kofi Tutu I" is
  • 1905 & the Muslim exception
  • A not-so-secular state culturalism
  • The phantom menace
  • G. Kepel, President whisperer
  • Dismissed
  • Their turn trying to rule the world
  • Just a matter of time

Sales Points

  • Political lyrics dealing with the conflicts rooted in France's colonial era
  • Post-Punk meets melodic Punk Rock. For fans of: Punk as Observers, Red Dons or Punk / Alternative acts as Fidlars, INVSN, Soviet Soviet or Surf Curse
  • 'Common Crusades' is the second full-length from the French Nightwatchers
  • Edition of 500 Copies on Clear Vinyl

This page was created in 0.29177689552307 seconds