• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO361-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026036120
  • Street Date: 05/31/19
  • PreBook Date: 01/01/01
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 79 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2015
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets





Lycia - A Line That Connects

The haunting atmospheric return to the classic mid-90s lineup. PITCHFORK: a reverb-drenched, gothic take on dreampop.

Lycia - A Line That Connects
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 9
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Released in the summer of 2015 A Line That Connects has been reissued on Projekt in CD and LP editions. Haunting, bleak, moody and atmospheric, their 10th album is a heavy record with shifting sonics and a full-band sound thanks to a return to the classic mid-90s Lycia lineup of Mike VanPortfleet, David Galas, and Tara Vanflower. It’s a contemporary sounding release that harkens back to their 90s darkwave roots. Lycia’s mix of post-punk bleakness and doomy darkness is an engaging, fascinating listen.

There’s a heavier feel here, a slow burn that threatens to explode from sheer intensity and passion; if you’re wondering just how it’s able to be menacing but also meditative, you’re not alone. The album flows through drone, dark-pop, and post-punk, with liquid guitar dripping, gloomy fog casting its spell, and hypnotic vocals spinning inside your head.

POP MATTERS: “Lycia’s influence, and the respect it’s afforded, has been far more profound than any record sales figures would suggest. While VanPortfleet might have felt his band was under-appreciated, you only need look to the resurrection of deathrock, the rise of witchy and hauntological electronica, shoegazing metal, eerily psychedelic Americana, or the rejuvenation of dark ambient music to see that Lycia’s legacy inspired a raft of musicians across a broad range of musical genres.”

PITCHFORK: “For over two decades, Arizona’s Lycia have been pioneers of ‘darkwave,’ a reverb-drenched, gothic take on dreampop. This is the Cocteau Twins, if they looked so far inward that they began to focus on the darker, downer-ridden side. Along with lovesliescrushing, who freed shoegaze from pop conventions, (Lycia) became one of the noteworthy and boundary-pushing acts on the goth music label Projekt. [A Line That Connects] is consistent with their past efforts, while remaining an intriguing headphone journey.”

CD in 4-panel digipak.

Track Listing

  • The Fall Back
  • Monday Is Here
  • Silver Leaf
  • A Trade Out
  • Blue
  • An Awakening
  • The Rain
  • Bright Like Stars
  • The Light Room
  • Illuminate
  • A Ghost Ascends
  • Hiraeth
  • Autumn Moon
  • The Only Way Through Is Out

This page was created in 0.30252408981323 seconds