• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: FM341-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 4014063434128
  • Street Date: 06/02/23
  • PreBook Date: 04/07/23
  • Label: Edition Collage »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 50:37 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2022
  • Box Lot: 40
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets





Laura - Sunset Balcony

"Sunset Balcony" is an album whose music moves toward the future, but along the way nostalgically glances back over its shoulder.

Laura - Sunset Balcony
  • List Price: $9.99  
  • Your Price: $9.99
  • In Stock: 51
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

It's amazing that no musician comes to mind right away who has already processed this image: The balcony as a creative culmination point, as a place of encounter, of exchange with familiar as well as new people, which at the same time "excites contradictory feelings," as singer Laura puts it: "The feeling of being at home and the feeling of being exposed to the outside world. The feeling of freedom coupled with the feeling of being in a safe place." A powerful metaphor for the mind of a musician. And a perfect anchor for an album: "Sunset Balcony" is the name of Laura's new work, "created in her mind on balmy evenings on a sunset balcony, alone or with loved ones, thinking about our place in the world or even just what we want to cook for dinner," as she reports. Laura describes a place in the sun with a view toward Paris: fourth floor and a French salon, into which the light of the Eiffel Tower falls through the glass front from time to time like a beacon from the distance, into which the view of the stone mountains of the suburbs is allowed to wander. Recently, the 27-year-old has spent much more time here than in her home near Stuttgart or in the concert halls of the world, as she is in the final stages of her psychology studies at the Université de Paris. A foundation that is important to her and resonates in her lyrics. Laura, who at that time was still using her last name Kipp, had already attracted attention in the Stuttgart jazz scene and in the BundesJazzorchester (BuJazzo) with her musical talent, her voice and her charisma convinced greats such as Quincy Jones, Dee Dee Bridgewater and Jacob Collier. In the same year, she also met bassist Jens Loh, with whom a naturally resonating creative community quickly emerged: His compositions and her lyrics fit together by themselves, so to speak: "Our aesthetic understanding just fits together perfectly," says Loh, who produced the album "Sunset Balcony".

Track Listing

  • Sunset Balcony
  • Johnny, the Fly
  • Narcìs
  • Oh, I could write a Book
  • Forever in a Blink
  • Hey, You
  • Bartender
  • Dance into the Light
  • Grain of Salt
  • Bénodet
  • Prayer
  • Promise me

This page was created in 0.31190204620361 seconds