• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ACRSLP1607
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 824046160722
  • Street Date: 06/16/23
  • PreBook Date: 03/03/23
  • Label: Acrobat »
  • Genre: Jazz
  • Run Time: 41 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 2023
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot:
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets





Jazz At The Philharmonic Seattle 1956 Vol. 1

A show like this would be good way of demonstrating to the uninitiated what jazz is all about.

Jazz At The Philharmonic Seattle 1956 Vol. 1
  • List Price: $26.99  
  • Your Price: $26.99
  • In Stock: 233
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

This LP, the first volume in the series, features part of the 17th National Tour of Jazz at The Philharmonic, a series of concerts initiated by the legendary impresario Norman Granz. Norman Granz was an American jazz record producer and concert promoter who constantly faced down the authorities across the USA by insisting on staging racially integrated shows, preferring to cancel concerts to his own financial loss rather than have his artists play to segregated audiences. A phenomenal Swing Set concert featuring a Septet comprising Roy Eldridge (trumpet), Flip Phillips (saxophone), Illinois Jacquet (saxophone), Oscar Peterson (piano), Herb Ellis (guitar), Ray Brown (bass), Jo Hones (drums). Encapsulates the spirit and essence of post-war modern jazz, and we are delighted to offer over different volumes, the opportunity to hear so many of the best artists of the genre performing together on the same bill with such obvious freedom and elan. A show like this would be good way of demonstrating to the uninitiated what jazz is all about. This release comes from the archives of the San Francisco Traditional Jazz Federation (www.sftjf.org) which are lodged with the Archive of Recorded Sound at Stanford University in California. The archive comprises a collection of jazz recordings amassed during the 1950s and 1960s by broadcaster Ken Ackerman, and widely known as the Ackerman Tapes.

Track Listing

  • Norman Granz - Introduction
  • All-Star Septet - Swing Set - Up Tempo Blues
  • All-Star Septet - Swing Set - These Foolish Things
  • All-Star Septet - Swing Set - Can't Get Started
  • All-Star Septet - Swing Set - Mooonglow
  • All-Star Septet - Swing Set - Noisy Norman Blues

This page was created in 0.23430418968201 seconds