• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: LIB-5110
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 089353511098
  • Street Date: 06/07/24
  • PreBook Date: 05/03/24
  • Label: Liberation Hall »
  • Genre: Pop/Rock
  • Run Time: 71:53 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 1964
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD


Product Assets





Gene Clark - The Lost Studio Sessions 1964-1982

Previously unreleased studio sessions from Clark's pre-Byrds days in 1964 with tracks from 1967-72 with 5 in '82 with a reunited Byrds as "Nyteflyte"

Gene Clark - The Lost Studio Sessions 1964-1982
  • List Price: $16.99  
  • Your Price: $16.99
  • In Stock: 92
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Beyond his achievements as a founding member of the Byrds, Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Gene Clark was truly one of the most prolific singer/songwriters of the rock era. This album introduces previously unreleased studio sessions from Clark's pre-Byrds days in 1964 with studio recordings from 1967-70 that feature Hugh Masekela on horns and arrangements by Leon Russell. The set also Includes tracks with the Flying Burrito Brothers with one that features Gram Parsons, Chris Hillman and Bernie Leadon from 1970. The last five tracks feature his 1982 reunion with former bandmates, Chris Hillman and Michael Clarke as the early Byrds band, "Nyteflyte". Since his passing in 1991, many of Gene Clark's home demo recordings and various live tracks have been released. Actual studio sessions were rare, and existence was more rumor until this release. These 24 "lost" recordings are presented here with the best possible sound quality mastered from the original analog monaural, stereo and multi-track tapes. This is an essentially an alternate history of Gene Clark's most productive years as a songwriter.


Track Listing

  • The Way I Am
  • I'd Feel Better
  • That Girl
  • A Worried Heart
  • If There's No Love
  • Back Street Mirror
  • Don't Let It Fall Through
  • Back To the Earth Again
  • The Lighthouse
  • The Awakening Within
  • Sweet Adrienne
  • Walking Through This Lifetime
  • The Sparrow
  • Only Yesterday's Gone
  • She Darked the Sun
  • Roll In My Sweet Baby's Arms
  • She Don't Care About Time
  • Don’t That Road Look Rough and Rocky
  • Bars Have Made A Prisoner Out Of Me
  • One Hundred Years From Now
  • The Letter
  • Still Feeling Blue
  • No Memories Hangin' Round
  • I'll Feel A Whole Lot Better

Sales Points

  • For fans of Americana and country-rock
  • Bob Dylan described Gene Clark as one of the three best songwriters in the world
  • Previously available as a limited edition SACD
  • Available also on translucent tan vinyl
  • Contains a comprehensive 24 page CD booklet
  • Chris Hillman noted in an interview remembering Clark, 'At one time, he was the power in the Byrds, not McGuinn, not Crosby—it was Gene who would burst through the stage curtain banging on a tambourine, coming on like a young Prince Valiant.'
  • Features tracks and appearances from the Flying Burrito Brothers, Gram Parsons, Chris Ethridge, Clarence White, Byron Berline, Hugh Masakela, Sneaky Pete Kleinow, Bernie Leadon

Press Quotes

I think it's fair to say that the release of this album might be proof for Gene Clark fans that Santa really exists.

     —Paul Kerr, Wordpress

this incredible collection of songs, all fully fledged studio recordings, no demos or alternative takes, which takes us from a fresh voiced 19 year old Clark straight out of The New Christy Minstrels through to a reunion with fellow ex-Byrds Michael Clark

     —Paul Kerr, Wordpress

Clark is pure of voice and heavy on emotion.

     —The Audiophile Man

These incredible recordings, which have never been released commercially, (prior to original release by Sierra), are from the original analog master studio recording sessions held in Los Angeles between 1964 and 1982

     —Perlich Post

At its best, it is transcendent - a chalky, coal-coloured outline of deep, dark American things.

     —Alex Abramovich, London Review Of Books


This page was created in 0.30484199523926 seconds