• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO62-1
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 617026006215
  • Street Date: 08/25/23
  • PreBook Date: 07/21/23
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Holiday
  • Run Time: 50:00 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1995
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: NA,GB


Cast & Crew

  • Director:


Product Assets





Excelsis: A Dark Noel (2021 Remaster)

13 dark holiday classics of untraditional fare. Turn down the lights... it's a dark noel!

Excelsis: A Dark Noel (2021 Remaster)
  • List Price: $22.99  
  • Your Price: $22.99
  • In Stock: 28
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

• LP on 140-gram vinyl, Orchid w/Purple & Grey Splatter
• Limited edition of 300
• Remastered edition
• 15,000+ sold on original CD edition.

Projekt's 1995 holiday compilation: A dark holiday classic!

Spend the holidays in style this year. No more barking dogs or Perry Como for you, uh-uh! While away the frigid hours until the important day with strains of Black Tape For A Blue Girl's "Chanukkah, Oh Chanukkah," Lycia's darkly sensual "We Three Kings," Love Spirals Downwards' "Welcome Christmas" (from the Grinch Who Stole Christmas), or Faith and the Muse's pagan madrigal "A Winter Wassail." All graced by our lovely Dark Angel prepared to brighten many a dark holiday night. Spend the season right, this year. Turn down the lights . . . it's a dark noel!

The Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel, 1995: This coven of gothic artists does emphasize the night in "Silent Night" and other seasonal songs on this intriguing set. Eerie, trance-like reworkings of "O Come All Ye Faithful" and "Carol of the Bells" seem to urge deep, Druid thought, not dread. Consider this a good time to go commune with the gargoyle statuary at your local cathedral.

The Boston Phoenix 1995: "Various luminaries of goth, including Lycia, and This Ascension, cover traditional holiday fare. Love Spirals Downward applies a Cocteau Twins-like sound. Faith & the Muse lend their Renaissance rendition of "A Winter Wassail." BlackTape's "Chanukkah O Chanukkah" brims with dark gothic overtones. For balance, there are a few more-traditional renditions" This is the perfect Xmas album to play for friends and family to make the holiday just a wee bit weird."

HUH #16: "More the work of monks than moshers, the emphasis on spacey, ethereal vocals makes this seem like This Mortal Coil on an eggnog bender, and that's not a bad thing. The prettiest of the lot, this is a beautiful collection of tracks for trimming the tree or burning your own yule log."


Track Listing

  • Arcanta - Carol of the Bells
  • Love Spirals Downwards - Welcome Christmas (from Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas)
  • Thanatos - O Come All Ye Faithful
  • This Ascension - Carol of the Bells
  • Area - O Come Emmanuel
  • Thanatos - The First Noel
  • Lovesliescrushing - Jingle Bells (Snowblower)
  • Black tape for a blue girl - Chanukkah, Oh Chanukkah
  • Lycia; The Unquiet Void - We Three Kings
  • Faith and the Muse - A Winter Wassail
  • Autopsia - Stille Nacht (g)RAVE remix
  • Attrition - Silent Night

This page was created in 0.30570101737976 seconds