• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO244-2
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 617026024424
  • Street Date: 06/08/10
  • PreBook Date: 05/04/10
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Ambient/Experimental
  • Run Time: 70 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2010
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NA,GB,ASIA


Product Assets





Erik Wollo - Gateway

With a minimalist’s restrained elegance, Wøllo creates passage through imaginary landscapes by blending dark and light.

Erik Wollo - Gateway
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 1
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Projekt’s first release from noted Norwegian electronic / ambient guitarist, synthesist and composer Erik Wøllo. Since the mid-80s, Wøllo has released a string of mesmerizingly melodic and original albums culminating in Gateway, his 14th solo release.

Star’s End Radio “Wøllo’s work is the musical equivalent of crossing a majestic landscape, over the earth and beneath the stars.”

Over two years Wøllo created this fine-tuned collection of carefully crafted compositions; electro-symphonies morph through a wide variety of moods, guitar expositions and crescendos. With a minimalist’s restrained elegance, Wøllo creates evocative passage through imaginary landscapes by blending dark and light elements. The resulting music is visual, kindling the feeling of nature inspired by the Nordic landscapes of Wøllo’s homeland. Dramatic, vast, and untouched landscapes symbolize purity and beauty.

Gateway is both lyrical and rhythmic, emphasizing melodic and structural formations; modern electronic music explores vast panoramas and limitless horizons. Graceful chiming themes ring out against ambient textures and delicate chord structures with a highly listenable appeal. It is a gentle musical journey through soundscapes of synthesizers and electric guitars. Orchestrated layers of sounds make this a deep listening experience where new details are discovered on each successive listening.

“There is always a meditative attitude,” Erik reflects, “recollections from dreams and reality suggesting the mysterious. Every artist has their own unique inner landscape that emulates where they were born and raised, influencing the creative expression. By reflecting all the different kinds of music that you have been hearing through your lifetime, Gateway is a mirror of time.”

CD in 4-panel digipak.

Track Listing

  • Land of Myths
  • First Arrival
  • The Crossing
  • A Sublime Place
  • Gateway
  • Blue Universe
  • The Traveler
  • There Will Be Snow
  • The Mental Trail
  • Full Circle
  • Wetlands
  • Thule

This page was created in 0.21525907516479 seconds