• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CDJAY21313
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 605288131325
  • Street Date: 09/14/99
  • PreBook Date: 08/10/99
  • Label: JAY Records »
  • Genre: Musical/Broadway
  • Run Time: 139 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 1998
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets





Original Cast Recording - Sondheim Tonight: Live From The Barbican Theatre: Complete Recording

Concert celebratng Sondheim's Birthday

Original Cast Recording - Sondheim Tonight: Live From The Barbican Theatre: Complete Recording
  • List Price: $29.99  
  • Your Price: $29.99
  • In Stock: 6
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

The Barbican Centre paid a tribute to the world's greatest living musical composer, STEPHEN SONDHEIM recently with a concert entitled SONDHEIM TONIGHT. The star studded evening was a sell out event and generated such excitement that this "live" recording is eagerly awaited.The stars appearing included CLEO LAINE, JULIA McKENZIE, JULIA MIGENES, MICHAEL BALL, MARIA FRIEDMAN, JONATHAN PRYCE, MILLICENT MARTIN, DAME EDNA EVERAGE and others.Some of the greatest Sondheim songs were represented in the concert and therefore will be included on this 2CD set. However, because of the World premiere recordings of two Sondheim pieces, A VERY SHORT VIOLIN PIECE and A PIANO SONATA, this 2CDs is a must for all Sondheim collectors the World over.Although this is a "live" recording, it was recorded by the very special JAY team and the resultant recording sounds very much like a great studio recording with the "live" essence being the feature. All the details in the 65 piece orchestra and the voices are perfectly recorded in Digital Dolby Surround Sound.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • Overture for Stephen Sondheim
  • Comedy Tonight (from a Funny Thing Happened On the Way to the Forum)
  • Introduction 1
  • March to the Treaty House (from Pacific Overtures)
  • Next (from Pacific Overtures)
  • The Ballad of Sweeney Todd (from Sweeney Todd)
  • Introduction 2
  • Night Waltz (from a Little Night Music)
  • Losing My Mind (from Follies)
  • Not While I'm Around (from Sweeney Todd)
  • Send In the Clowns (from a Little Night Music)
  • Introduction 3
  • Stavisky Suite
  • I Remember (from Evening Primrose)
  • Green Finch and Linnet Bird (from Sweeney Todd)
  • Introduction 4
  • A Very Short Violin Sonata
  • Introduction 5
  • The Ladies Who Lunch (from Company)
  • More (from Dick Tracy)
  • Disc 2:
    • A Salute to Stephen Sondheim
    • Company (from Company)
    • Barcelona (from Company)
    • Introduction 6
    • Good Thing Going / Not a Day Goes By (from Merrily We Roll Along)
    • Introduction 7
    • I Never Do Anything Twice (from 7% Solution)
    • Introduction 8
    • Variations On a Theme (Katie Malone)
    • Introduction 9
    • Opening Scene from Follies
    • Beautiful Girls (from Follies)
    • Introduction 10
    • Loving You (from Passion)
    • Introduction 11
    • Broadway Baby (from Follies)
    • Being Alive (from Company) / Another Hundred People (from Company) / Sunday In the Park With George (from Sunday In the Park With George)
    • Introduction 12
    • Telephone Conversation With Stephen Sondheim
    • Finale

This page was created in 0.2909951210022 seconds