• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: CDJAY1402
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 605288140228
  • Street Date: 08/12/08
  • PreBook Date: 07/08/08
  • Label: JAY Records »
  • Genre: Musical/Broadway
  • Run Time: 68 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Year of Production: 2008
  • Box Lot: 25
  • Territory: NORTH AMERICA


Product Assets





Original Off Broadway Cast - The Gig

The Original Off Broadway Cast album of a Concert performance of this interesting Musical at The York Theatre, New York

Original Off Broadway Cast - The Gig
  • List Price: $17.99  
  • Your Price: $17.99
  • In Stock: 113
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

"A WINNING MUSICAL...steeped in the tradition of old-time, goodtime musical comedy! A splendid opening number travels, builds and sustains the feel, the flow and the life of a real musical, following the style of "COMEDY TONIGHT" and "TRADITION"! Under a consistently traceable Sondheim influence, Mr. Cohen is a mellower, softer disciple, chronicling disillusion without a trace of the cynical or the sinister, only the wistful, with a touch of the poignant." Alvin, Klein, THE NEW YORK TIMES (New Jersey edition)"A GREAT SHOW! If originality and style mixed with solid music and clever lyrics, all blended with humor and pathos still count in the theater world, this show should have a solid future ahead!" NATIONAL PUBLIC RADIO"A FUNNY AND TOUCHING NEW MUSICAL. Cohen's writing, both of dialogue and lyrics, is clever and poignant. His music is similarly telling...Cohen vividly depicts the vicissitudes of life as a paid musician." THE BOSTON GLOBE"FOUR STARS! HIGHEST RATING! THE GIG is a rich look at 'regular guys'!" THE SACRAMENTO BEE"THE GIG IS A CHARMER - WARM, HUMAN, FAST, FUNNY, UPBEAT & FRESH" THE RECORD (Sacramento)"Upon pressing the play button, Cohen launched into his bravura opening sequence ("Farewell Mere Existence, Hello Jazz!") and I was instantly engrossed. Cohen takes six solitary characters, adrift in separate lives, and linked only by their Wednesday night jam session, and in 11 minutes builds the basis for a musical. From there on, I found myself listening intently to just about every moment of The Gig. Cohen, as in No Way to Treat a Lady, is a keen and clever composer/lyricist, with an offbeat sense and a penchant for sly surprises. " Steven Suskin, PLAYBILL.COM (Review of the CD)

Track Listing

  • Prologue
  • Farewell Mere Existence Hello Jazz!
  • Four Hours Away from Paradise
  • Time Out
  • Departures
  • Real Nice Trip
  • Real Nice Trip (Reprise)
  • Play Nice
  • Drifting
  • Benny Goodman
  • Finale Act One
  • Biff-Bam-Bang!
  • Beautiful
  • Ricki Is Back In Town
  • Me and Mr. "G"
  • Time to Put the Toys Away
  • Choices
  • I Can't Live Without Your Horn
  • Bows

This page was created in 0.29908514022827 seconds