• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: PRO332-1
  • Format: LP
  • UPC: 617026033228
  • Street Date: 01/20/17
  • PreBook Date: 12/16/16
  • Label: Projekt »
  • Genre: Alternative/Punk
  • Run Time: 76 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1996
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 0
  • Territory: NA


Product Assets





Black Tape For A Blue Girl - These Fleeting Moments

Gently lit by the existential gleam of a dying sun. A darkwave, ethereal sound. 2LP on 150 gram green-swirled vinyl.

Black Tape For A Blue Girl - These Fleeting Moments
  • List Price: $24.99  
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: 5
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Picking up Blacktape’s classic 90s darkwave, ethereal sound; original vocalist Oscar returns on their 30th anniversary.

Soundscape Magazine: “Gently lit by the existential gleam of a dying sun.”

Given where Black Tape for a Blue Girl began over a quarter of a century ago with founder Sam Rosenthal’s exploration of brooding, extended electronics and strings meshed with deeply revealing lyrics and darkly textured, melodramatic vocal performances, it’s striking to see his muse and inspiration reach a new peak on their 11th album. The ethereal, gothic and darkAmbient stylings that made them one of the originators of American darkwave are offered on this release which coincides with the band’s 30th anniversary. Rosenthal reinvigorates their classic sound with the return of original vocalist Oscar Herrera, absent from music for 17 years.

The band emerges from the studio with 70 minutes of powerful, gorgeously yearning tracks born from the same place as their 90s classics. Sam’s lyrics explore the existential predicaments of time’s passage, choices questioned, and loves lost. Oscar’s darkly dramatic vocals are complemented by Dani Herrera’s emotional and heartfelt voice, Nick Shadow’s visceral viola, Brian Viglione’s (The Dresden Dolls) driving drums, and Rosenthal’s pensive electronics and revelatory songwriting.

Blurt Online: “A clever move and a tricky balancing act, the (new) record digs deep into the band’s traditional sound, while still incorporating more recent developments and experimenting with new ones. Earnest, resourceful and demanding, it easily stands as one of their best albums.”

New Noise Magazine: “It’s the kind of record that you play after the day’s activities have more or less concluded, and is recommended for a time of contemplative reflection.”

2LP on 150 gram green-swirled color vinyl. With: 12-page booklet (7″ x 5″ landscape-shaped). Limited edition of 500.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • The vastness of life
  • Disc 2:
    • Limitless
    • One promised love
    • Bike shop / absolute zero
    • Affinity
    • Disc 3:
      • Please don't go
      • Six thirteen
      • Zug köln
      • Meditation on the skeleton
      • Disc 4:
        • Desert rat-kangaroo
        • She's gone
        • She ran so far away that she no longer can be found
        • You're inside me

This page was created in 0.30417490005493 seconds