• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ROC-3389
  • Format: LP (Reissue)
  • UPC: 089353338923
  • Street Date: 06/08/18
  • PreBook Date: 05/04/18
  • Label: RockBeat Records »
  • Genre: Blues
  • Run Time: 38 mins
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Audio: STEREO
  • Year of Production: 1965
  • Region Code: 0
  • Box Lot: 30
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets





Son House - Live At Oberlin College, April 15, 1965

One of the truly legendary figures in blues and folk music

Son House - Live At Oberlin College, April 15, 1965
  • List Price: $19.99  
  • Your Price: $19.99
  • In Stock: [{"available":"0"}]
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Son House is one of the truly legendary figures in blues and folk music He first came to prominence in 1930 when his first 78RPM recordings for the Paramount label were issued. Like many of the greatest blues singers of the 20th century, Son was born and raised in the Delta region is Mississippi and his masterful and innovative slide work was a major influence on many of the other great singers from that region including Robert Johnson and Muddy Waters. Son stopped performing in the late 1940's as he did not relate to the new powerful amplified blues band sound, and felt no one cared to hear the old style classic blues anymore. It wasn't until 1960 that Al Wilson, a devout blues aficionado most famous for leading the blues group, Canned Heat, tracked Son House down in Rochester, New York and encouraged him to perform once again. Until his death in the late 1960's, Son House performed with all the old power and brilliance that gave him the name "Father of the Blues". This fantastic recording was recorded "live" at one of the many successful Son House appearances and the existence of these tapes was only recently discovered. For the first time, not only his brilliant singing and slide guitar can be heard, but a rare glimpse of the man himself, talking intimately to the audience of his lifetime of experience and what the blues mean to him. This is a rare and unusual performance that no blues lover will want to be without

Track Listing

  • Introduction : It's So Hard (Live)
  • Judgement Day (Live)
  • New York Central (Live)
  • A True Friend Is Hard To Find (Live)
  • Preachin' the Blues (Live)
  • Change Your Mind (Live)

This page was created in 0.29263806343079 seconds