• Your Picks
  • DVD & Blu-ray
  • CD
  • Vinyl
  • Collectibles
  • Best Sellers
  • Street date:

Product Details

  • An MVD Exclusive
  • SKU: ICR014
  • Format: CD
  • UPC: 683615156241
  • Street Date: 03/27/20
  • PreBook Date: 02/21/20
  • Label: In A Circle Records »
  • Genre: Classical
  • Run Time: 81:58 mins
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Year of Production: 2020
  • Box Lot: 27
  • Territory: WORLD
  • Language: English


Product Assets





Brooklyn Rider - Healing Modes

This Grammy-nominated release pairs Beethoven's late masterpiece (String Quartet opus 132) with 5 new works.

Brooklyn Rider - Healing Modes
  • List Price: $24.99  New Price!
  • Your Price: $24.99
  • In Stock: 65
  • You must login to place orders.

    Not purchasing for a business? See our consumer site.

Healing Modes pairs Beethoven's late masterpiece (String Quartet opus 132) with 5 new works, which explore the subject of healing from a wide range of historical and cultural perspectives.

The healing properties of music have been recognized from ancient greek civilization to the field of modern neuroscience, and expressed in countless global traditions. The slow movement of Beethoven's Opus 132, 'Song of Holy Thanksgiving From a Convalescent to the Deity in the Lydian Mode' is among the most profound expressions of healing in the string quartet repertoire. Beethoven's eternal work is paired with 5 works commissioned for, and premiered by Brooklyn Rider.

Healing Modes continues Brooklyn Rider's rich and diverse recording career. The group released 3 critically-acclaimed albums in 2019: "The Butterfly", a collaboration with Irish fiddler Martin Hayes (ICR); "Sun on Sand", with jazz legend Joshua Redman (Nonesuch); and "Philip Glass: Annunciation", an album of the composer's new works for string quartet (OMM).

This album is an absolute must-have for lovers of classical, indie-classical, contemporary-classical; string quartets, Beethoven.

Track Listing

Disc 1:
  • borderlands....
  • Quartet No. 15 in A minor, Op. 132 I. Assai sostenuto - Allegro
  • Zeher (Poison)
  • Kanto Kechua #2
  • Quartet No.15 in A minor, Opus 132 II. Allegro ma non tanto
  • Disc 2:
    • i am my own achilles' heel
    • Quartet No.15 in A minor, Opus 132 III. Adagio molto - Andante
    • Schisma
    • Quartet No.15 in A minor, Opus 132 IV. Alla Marcia, assai vivace - PiĆ¹ allegro - Presto
    • Quartet No.15 in A minor, Opus 132. V. Allegro appassionato

Sales Points

  • Brooklyn Rider will tour the album extensively in the US, including shows in New York's Town Hall; FL and CA
  • FOR FANS OF: Brooklyn Rider, Yo-Yo Ma, Silk Road Ensemble, Roomful of Teeth, Kronos Quartet, Nonesuch Records, Danish Quartet
  • Full Service press/publicity/radio campaign by label's in-house PR firm; including, but not limited to viral/email campaigns, physical promotional mailouts, radio promotion, etc.
  • Nominated for a Grammy in the Best Chamber Music/Small Ensemble category

Press Quotes

Superb playing is matched only by the thought, commitment, and inspiration its members pour into projects...making the string quartet ont a relic of times long gone, but a vessel for the shape of music to come

     —NPR Music

Dramatic and often thrilling

     —Rolling Stone

For the past few years, Brooklyn Rider have pushed the envelope pretty much as far as a string quartet can go, and in the process they have raised the bar for other group: they transcend any preconceptions about what serious composed music is all about.

     —Lucid Culture

The juxtapositions are illuminating, the playing persuasive, and the timing almost impossibly serendipitous.

     —Steve Smith, The New Yorker


This page was created in 0.1963050365448 seconds